Media release - 27/4/15

Newcastle Airport appoints two new directors

Monday, 27 April 2015

Newcastle Airport’s Chairman, Peter Gesling, today announced the appointment of two new non-executive directors to Newcastle Airport’s board.

Kirby Clark and Jude Munro AO will take up positions that were vacated at last year’s annual general meeting.

“These two new appointments will bring to the board experience in a range of disciplines, including significant Australian-airport experience,” said Mr Gesling.

“Kirby Clark joins the board with almost 15 years’ experience as Deputy CEO and CFO at Melbourne Airport. While in this role he was involved in major aeronautical investments worth more than $1 billion. He has served on the board of directors at Launceston Airport and is currently the Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee at Eastern Health in Victoria, where he also serves on the Finance, Planning Strategy, and HR Committees.

“Jude Munro brings a wealth of experience to the board. She has served on the board of directors of City of Brisbane Airport Corporation, Air Services Australia, and has been the Chair of Queensland Urban Utilities (Australia’s fourth largest water utility), amongst many other board-level appointments. She has worked closely with Brisbane, Adelaide, and Sunshine Coast airports in strategic planning, infrastructure planning, and stakeholder management. In her most recent CEO position at Brisbane City Council she led 9,000 employees and managed a $2.6 billion budget.

Mr Gesling said this was an exciting time for Newcastle Airport and these two appointments will set the foundation for the next phase of Newcastle Airport’s growth in the region.

“The past couple of years have seen major milestones achieved as part of Newcastle Airport’s overall business strategy; ASIC approved a company restructure in late 2012, and the current terminal expansion project, to be completed later this year, gives certainty to the future growth of Newcastle Airport.

“The appointment of Kirby and Jude to our board of directors brings significant experience and expertise to our region’s major transport hub,” concluded Mr Gesling.

Directors are elected annually for up to three years and can be reappointed subsequently.


Contact Us

Why not stay up to date?

Your use of this website is governed by the Disclaimer. We will only use your personal information in accordance with our Privacy Policy.