Skip to Content

Board Governance Charter

Newcastle Airport Pty Limited's Board of Directors is ultimately responsible to its shareholders for the strategy and performance of the company. It is dedicated to fulfilling these duties in a lawful and professional manner, with the utmost integrity and objectivity, and actively pursues best practice governance processes. The Board has adopted a Board Charter that defines the respective roles, responsibilities and authorities of the Board and management, by setting the direction and control of the organisation.

In accordance with the Constitution and Partnership Deed, our Board comprises of up to ten non-executive directors, with a majority of independent directors. Selected for their strategic insight and commercial acumen, our Board guides our journey to be the airport the region deserves.



Jude Munro AO

Jude has served on 20 boards including as Chair, Qld Urban Utilities and Director, Air Services Australia. She is Chair, Victorian Planning Authority, Chair, Victorian Pride Centre and Chair, Uniting Vic Tas and is a Director, Royal Children’s Hospital Melbourne. She was given the keys to the City of Brisbane in 2010, made a National Fellow, Institute of Public Administration and a Life Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia.

Deputy Chair

Samantha Martin - Williams

Samantha's career spans more than 25 years across highly regulated industries, including logistics and supply chain, financial services, education and health. Sam is a former Telstra Business Woman of the Year and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. An experienced Board executive, she serves on several Boards encompassing banking, transport, social purpose and education. 


Jeremy Bath

Jeremy is a strategic communicator with a breadth of experience across Local Government and State-owned corporations. Jeremy boasts outstanding credentials in public affairs, stakeholder management and senior leadership with ClubsNSW and Hunter Water Corporation. He is the current CEO of the City of Newcastle.


Morgan Parker

Morgan’s career spans more than 25 years, working within the global investment banking and property industries. He is a full time non-executive Director with a current portfolio of six boards spanning the real estate, education, entertainment and technology sectors. Recognised for his thought-leadership, he is a globally sought-after speaker in the areas of cross border investment and future city shaping.


Nuatali Nelmes

Nuatali is the Lord Mayor of the City of Newcastle, a role she has held since 2014, after serving as a Councillor for six years. Nuatali is passionate about the future of the region, supporting initiatives to attract investment and drive job opportunities. She brings vision, knowledge and a dedication to establishing Newcastle as a truly global city.


Ryan Palmer

A born and bred Port Stephens local, Ryan was elected Mayor of Port Stephens in 2017. With his background in banking, Ryan brings a strategic approach to financial management and a solid commitment to delivering value to his community. Previously a President of the Tomaree Business Chamber, Ryan understands the importance of driving long-term growth in the region.

Director | People and Culture Committee Chair

Neil Hart AM

Neil is a highly respected strategic leader with a proven track record leading high performing organisations. Working with all levels of government and industry in the fields of aviation, Defence, space and National security, Neil has extensive experience in strategic risk management and governance. A retired Air Vice-Marshal, Neil has had command at all levels in the military, including operational command of coalition air and space operations embedded with the US Air Force. The former Professor in Defence Technologies with Deakin University is an innovation and outcomes focused leader, highly regarded for his coaching of resilient expert teams.

Director | Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee Chair

Lee de Winton

An experienced Chief Executive, Lee’s comprehensive experience spans Defence, airport master planning, operational management, government, operational planning and delivery, safety and risk, and airworthiness. Lee was named as one of the 100 Women of Influence by the 2019 Australian Financial Review and successfully navigated Sydney Metro Airports through the challenges and uncertainty of the Covid-19 pandemic. Underpinning her success in delivering outcomes in complex, dynamic and uncertain environments is Lee’s passion for leading, transforming and coaching loyal and high-performing teams.


Tim Crosdale

Tim joined Port Stephens Council in 2018 following a successful career in senior and executive level management across private consulting and local government. Tim has a successful track record in business leadership, professional services provision, business, and staff management with a passion for leading teams and delivering results. Tim has extensive skills and experience in development and strategic planning, project delivery, and business operations including HR, marketing, financial management and business development. He is the current General Manager of Port Stephens Council.


Mark Young

Mark was Managing Director of Adelaide Airport Limited for 10 years until 2021. Prior to joining the Airport as Chief Financial Officer in 2001, Mark enjoyed a 20-year career as Finance Director at Macmahon Holdings Limited. Mark is an experienced non-executive director, having held directorships with the South Australian Tourism Commission and Aviation Industry Boards, both domestic and international. Mark was appointed to the Remuneration Tribunal of South Australia in January 2024, and has completed an Advanced Management Program at the Harvard Business School.

Back to top